Continuing education is required to change your license type. The amount and type of continuing education required varies depending on whether you were previously licensed as a salesperson, broker-salesperson or broker and the length of time you have been licensed as a referral agent. See N.J.A.C. 11:5-3.15. Click here for a chart summarizing the requirements.
No, referral agents are not required to complete continuing education courses but, upon initial licensure and renewal, their brokers are required to review with them the restrictions imposed by law upon the brokerage activities of referral agents and to certify to the Commission that they have done so.
Individuals licensed as Real Estate Brokers, Broker-salespersons and salespersons are required to complete 12 credit hours of continuing education courses as a condition of the biennial renewal for the 2015-2017 license term by April 30, 2015. An additional $200 processing fee is imposed upon renewing licensees who complete the CE requirement between May 1, 2015 and June 30, 2015. After June 30, 2015, individuals with an inactive license with an expiration date of June 30, 2015 will be required to reinstate their license, and complete the applicable continuing education requirement.
All individuals licensed as brokers, broker-salespersons and salespersons must complete continuing education requirements every two (2) years in order to renew their license for the upcoming biennial term.
Licensees and the general public may access the “Licensee Search”.
Yes. The REC no longer requires the return of your paper license to transfer to another broker. Transfers are now processed by the broker electronically via the online licensing services, or a paper application which is located on our website in the Applications and Forms area. After the present broker inactivates the license, the new broker may activate the license.
Licenses can carry a print-out of their current license status, as posted on the “Licensee Search” function of the Department’s website.
No. The New Jersey Real Estate Commission no longer mails licenses. You may now print and/or e-mail your license via our licensee portal. This license print service is available only to licensees in active status.
No, you cannot pay to have your license remain in an inactive status. Everyone has two (2) years from the EXPIRATION DATE of the last license issued in which to reinstate (reactivate) their license. Your license must be issued to a licensed New Jersey broker.
Upon the issuance of your license to your employing broker or broker-of-record, you may request to have your license inactivated by the broker through the on-line process if you do not wish to maintain an active license.
Your license must be reinstated (reactivated) no later than June 30, 2015. Get the application for reinstatement (Fillable MS Wordor PDF). You must submit a reinstatement application completed by you and your employing broker or broker-of-record and submit it to the Real Estate Licensing Services Bureau accompanied by the appropriate fee ($150 salesperson or $250 broker-salesperson). The application must be post marked no later than June 30, 2015.